Results of the 46th Annual Bert Corkum Memorial 5-Mile Road Race

Saturday, September 11, 2010

The 46th Bert Corkum Memorial 5-Mile Road Race took place in Lunenburg on September 11, 2010. One of the province's oldest races, the challenging, hilly route is still enjoyed by several dozen competitors each year. It was originally set up as a tribute to a native Lunenburger who gave of his time to local sport. The race was, for many years, sponsored by the Lunenburg Fisheries Exhibition. In more recent times, it has been taken over as a Bluenose Strider event, directed by Steve Saunders.

Saturday's race saw 25 runners and two walkers complete the single-loop course which starts at the community centre and goes toward Centre, turns left on the First South road and winds along the water and over the hills past Corkums Island, ending up back at the centre. For Colin Edwards that only took 27 minutes and 16 seconds. He was followed in second and third position by Robin Meister and Terry Morris. First female was Alice Patrick. Complete results and awards are as follows:

1st, Colin Edwards, 27:16.
2nd, Robin Meister, 31:48, first senior masters' male.
3rd, Terry Morris, 33:42, second senior masters' male.
4th, Al Heubach, 34:10, third senior masters' male.
5th, Chris Anderson, 34:45.
6th, Dion McKay, 35:28, first masters' male.
7th, Roger Heisler, 36:25, second masters' male.
8th, Richard Lane, 36:46, third masters' male.
9th, Theodor Mader, 37:14.
10th, Nicholas Muise, 37:36.
11th, David Aggett, 37:50.
12th, Alice Patrick, 37:58, first senior masters' female.
13th, Bill Roblee, 38:26.
14th, Shelagh Keddy-Veinotte, 38:32, first masters' female.
15th, Tammy Slauenwhite, 39:28.
16th, Nancy Petrie, 39:36, second masters' female.
17th, Connie Meister, 39:53, second senior masters' female.
18th, Scott Brown, 40:36.
19th, Rachel Bailey, 41:20, third masters' female.
20th, Freda Cormier, 42:19, third senior masters' female.
21st, David Robertson, 46:01.
22nd, Laura Roblee, 47:02.
23rd, Beverley Richardson, 48:33.
24th, Caitlin Cormier, 51:26.
25th, Arnold Robertson, 52:48.
26th, Jennifer Aggett, 73:00.
27th, Ken Churchill, 74:44.